Can I Wear Two Cloaks in DND? (Answered & Solved)

In Dungeons and Dragons (DND), it’s only natural that you want to double up your character’s advantages—including items, weapons, and clothing.

You might ask, Can I wear two cloaks in DND?

You can wear two cloaks in DND. According to the official rules, the Dungeon Master decides if you can wear multiple cloaks. If allowed, characters can wear two light cloaks, two heavy cloaks, and two magical cloaks. Wearing two cloaks can penalize armor class, attack rolls, and saving throws.

In this article, you’ll learn everything you need to know to answer the question, “Can I wear two cloaks in DND?”

4 Reasons You Can Wear Two Cloaks in DND

(This post may have affiliate links. Please see my disclosure)
Person in cloak—Can I Wear Two Cloaks in DND
Image by the author via Canva—Can I Wear Two Cloaks in DND?

There are at least four good reasons that you can wear two cloaks in DND.

  1. Official Rules
  2. Logistical Possibility
  3. Magic
  4. DM Homebrewing

The Official Rules of DND

The Official Rules of DND allow characters to wear two cloaks at the same time.

You can find the RAW (rules as written) in the Basic Rules document of Dungeons & Dragons:

Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, and one cloak. You can make exceptions; a character might be able to wear a circlet under a helmet, for example, or to layer two cloaks.

Based on this official document, most of the time a character would not be able to comfortably wear more than one cloak at a time.

Especially under or over armor.

Logistical Possibility

There is no reason why a character couldn’t realistically wear two cloaks.

After all, in real life, we can put on several layers of clothing, including multiple shirts, dresses, and bath robes.

It might not be comfortable or practical, but it is possible.

The same is true for cloaks in DND. While it might not be the most effective way to stay warm or dry, a character could technically wear two cloaks at the same time.

This may be particularly true for a character who only wears one light cloak.

That character might be able to easily layer two cloaks.

Magic

In the world of Dungeons and Dragons, magic is a very real force that can have a profound impact on the lives of those who wield it.

This is especially true for characters who are able to tap into the power of two magical cloaks.

While most characters are limited to wearing one cloak at a time, those who have access to powerful magic can easily circumvent this limitation.

There are a variety of ways in which a character might acquire the ability to wear two cloaks simultaneously. One possibility is that they may find a magic item during their adventures that allow them to do so.

Another is that they may be granted the ability by a deity they worship.

Finally, they may simply use a spell, such as the Wish spell, to achieve their desired goal.

Whatever the method, the bottom line is that, in the world of DND, it is entirely possible for a character to wear two cloaks at the same time.

DM Homebrewery

Like most things and DND, the ability to wear two cloaks comes down to the Dungeon Master’s discretion.

Your Dungeon Master (DM) can:

  • Permit your character to wear two or more cloaks
  • Homebrew a spell or ability that makes it possible
  • Homebrew a magic item that allows you to wear multiple cloaks

As you can see, there is an almost unlimited number of ways for your character to wear two cloaks in DND.

What Kinds of Cloaks Can You Wear Simultaneously in DND?

When it comes to cloaks in DND, there are many different types to choose.

Cloak options include:

  • Light cloaks
  • Heavy cloaks
  • Magic cloaks

Light cloaks offer a small amount of protection and are easy to move in, making them ideal for rogues and thieves.

Heavy cloaks provide more coverage, but can be bulky and hinder movement.

Magic cloaks are perhaps the most powerful, offering a range of benefits depending on the specific enchantments.

It stands to reason that you could wear two light cloaks simultaneously, as they would not be too cumbersome. However, wearing two heavy cloaks would likely be too difficult to move in and would offer no real advantage over wearing just one.

As for two magic cloaks, that might be overpowered (OP).

After all, magic cloaks are already quite powerful on their own. Wearing two would likely give you an unfair advantage in combat.

Here is a quick list of magical cloaks in DND:

  • Cloak of Displacement
  • Cloak of Protection
  • Cloak of Bat
  • Cloak of Disguise
  • Hellhound Cloak
  • Cloak of Invisibility
  • Cloak of Arachnida
  • Cloak of Elvenkind
  • Cloak of Billowing
  • Cloak of Many Fashions

Can I Wear Two Cloaks of Displacement?

No, you can not wear two Cloaks of Displacement.

Cloaks of Displacement are powerful, rare items that can be found in the game of Dungeons & Dragons.

When activated, they create an illusion that you are standing in a different (but nearby) location.

This can be incredibly useful for avoiding attacks or getting out of dangerous situations.

However, it should be noted that wearing two cloaks of displacement is considered overpowered by many Dungeon Masters.

This is because the wearer would effectively have two chances to avoid being hit by an attack.

Can I Wear Two Cloaks of Protection?

No, you can not wear two Cloaks of Protection.

This magical cloak grants the wearer a +1 bonus to their Armor Class and Saving Throws, making them more resistant to damage and giving them a better chance of success when dodging melee, ranged, or magical attacks.

For example, a character with a base AC of 15 would now have an AC of 16, making them much more difficult to hit.

Similarly, a character with a base Saving Throw bonus of +2 would now have a +3, increasing their chances of success.

Therefore, wearing and stacking two Cloaks of Protection would be overpowered.

What Are the Benefits of Wearing Two Cloaks?

There are several practical benefits of wearing two cloaks at the same time.

Possible benefits might be:

  • Added warmth
  • Extra protection
  • Disguise
  • Stacking magical abilities

Depending on the climate of the adventure, these benefits can really help your character survive.

What Are the Downsides of Wearing Two Cloaks in DND?

At the same time, there are also real disadvantages to wearing two cloaks in DND.

Here are some disadvantages:

  • More weight
  • Bulky
  • Uncomfortable
  • Restricted movement
  • Slow movement

First of all, wearing two cloaks can be quite uncomfortable. The fabric can rub together, causing chafing and irritation.

Additionally, the extra layer of cloth can make it difficult to move and can cause you to overheat.

The extra layer of clothing makes it more difficult to escape if you are being chased. Finally, wearing two cloaks can be a hindrance in combat.

The extra layer of fabric can get in the way of your weapons and armor, and it can also impede your magic spells.

You might suffer disadvantages to armor class, attack rolls, and saving throws.

Can I Attune to Two Cloaks in DND?

Normally, you cannot attune to two of the same magical cloaks at the same time.

However, if your DM allows it, you may be able to attune to two different magical cloaks.

For example, your character might wear:

  • A Cloak of Invisibility
  • A Cloak of Flying

In this example, your character can fly unseen to scout out dangerous territories, spy on enemies, or escape an ambush.

It’s up to your Dungeon Master to determine if attuning to two magical cloaks is allowable in gameplay.

Can I Wear a Magic Cloak and a Magic Robe at the Same Time?

Yes, you can wear a magic cloak and a magic robe at the same time.

The reason I come to this conclusion is that a robe is typically considered clothing, while a cloak is generally seen as outerwear.

It’s like me and you wearing a jacket (cloak) over a sweater (robe).

Looking at it like that makes it very reasonable. However, since the question deals with magic, the DM can overrule practicality.

Two magical clothing items might throw the game out of balance.

What Characters Can Wear Two Cloaks?

There are few hard and fast rules governing what characters can wear in DND.

In general, however, most characters are limited to wearing one cloak at a time. This is due to the fact that cloaks can be quite cumbersome, and it can be difficult to move freely while wearing more than one.

There are, however, some exceptions to this rule.

Any character can wear two cloaks if the Dungeon Master permits the layering of cloaks.

This does not mean, however, that the character can activate two magical cloaks at the same time. For example, a character might wear a Cloak of Invisibility over their light armor in order to gain a stealth advantage in combat.

However, they probably would not be able to benefit from the cloak’s magic if they were also wearing a Cloak of Elvenkind.

In general, then, layering cloaks is only possible if the cloaks in question have different effects.

You also might want to think about your character when choosing a cloak to wear.

Here is a good video that goes over the different types of cloaks your character might wear:

YouTube Video by Living Anachronism—Can I Wear Two Cloaks in DND?

Final Thoughts: Can I Wear Two Cloaks in DND?

In summary, you can wear two cloaks in DND but only at your DM’s discretion.

Even if you can wear two magical cloaks, you may be only able to benefit from one at a time.

Related posts:

Sources

Wizards of the Coast (Player’s Manual)
Basic Rules

Create a DND Character With Jasper ...
Create a DND Character With Jasper Art