Can You Change Cantrips in D&D? (Easy Answer for Beginners)

D&D is a game that is all about customization—race, class, background, and even alignment. You can customize your character even more by choosing their feats, spells, and equipment.

It’s no wonder that players always look for other ways to make their characters even more unique.

Can you change cantrips in D&D?

Most characters can not change cantrips in D&D. Cantrips do not use spell slots. Certain D&D classes allow players to learn new cantrips as they advance levels. Artificers can change one cantrip when they gain a new level in D&D. Players can change cantrips with a Wish Spell or help from a deity.

In this article, we’ll explore everything you need to know to answer the question, “Can you change cantrips in D&D?”

Can You Change Cantrips in D&D? (Classes)

(This post may have affiliate links. Please see my disclosure)
Female witch stirring cauldron—Can You Change Cantrips in D&D
Image by the author via Canva—Can You Change Cantrips in D&D?

The general rule is that once you choose a cantrip, it’s yours for the rest of your character’s life.

It grows in power as you move up into successively more challenging tiers of the game. According to the rules as written (RAW), there’s no way to change your cantrips.

However, there are some caveats to this rule.

Classes have different abilities, and there are some special circumstances that let you “change” cantrips.

If you’re playing a class that gives you the option to learn new cantrips as you level up, you can choose different cantrips as you gain new levels.

Dungeon Masters (DMs) can also homebrew house rules that allow players to replace cantrips.

Can Wizards Change Cantrips?

Wizards usually have no option to change cantrips.

They learn three cantrips from their spell list at the first level and then additional cantrips at higher levels.

According to RAW, when a character gains a level in their class, they can choose a non-cantrip spell they know and replace it with another one from the non-cantrip spell list. This new spell must be from a level the character has spell slots.

Cantrips do not have spell slots.

So, by the wording of those rules, Wizards can not choose new cantrips as they level up.

However, Tasha’s Cauldron Of Everything introduced an option for the Wizard class that allows them to replace cantrips after a long rest.

If you’re not using this supplemental D&D rule, you’re mostly out of luck if you want your Wizard’s cantrips changed.

Can Druids Change Cantrips?

Druids can not change cantrips.

They learn two cantrips at the first level and then learn more at higher levels. While they can replace other prepared spells after a long rest, this doesn’t extend to cantrips.

From the Druid Spellcasting Class Features section of the Player’s Handbook:

Druid learns two cantrips of your choice from their spell at level one. They prepare these spells but only those available for casting on their spell list.

That said, Cantrips are not part of prepared spells.

They also don’t take up a prepared spell slot. Therefore, Druids can not replace cantrips as they go up in levels of the game.

Can Clerics Change Cantrips?

Clerics can not change cantrips.

They learn three cantrips at the first level and then gain more cantrips at higher levels. While they can replace other prepared spells after a long rest, they can’t change cantrips.

The same rules that apply to Druids also apply to Clerics.

Cantrips for Clerics are not part of prepared spells and don’t fill prepared spell slots. So, there’s no way for Clerics to change their cantrips as they level up.

Can an Eldritch Knight Change Cantrips?

No, an Eldritch Knight can not change cantrips.

The official rules give no provisions to replace cantrips once chosen.

According to the lead game developer, Jeremy E. Crawford, “The intent is to enable Eldritch Knight to exchange 1st level or higher spells with other spells they have spell slots.”

However, under homebrew rules, they may exchange a known cantrip for another not-cantrip spell.

Basically, a DM would need to enable this house rule for players.

Can Artificers Change Cantrips?

Yes, Artificers can change cantrips.

They learn three cantrips at the first level and then more as they advance in the game. When they gain a new cantrip, they may choose to replace one of their existing cantrips with it.

Unlike other classes, Artificers are unique in how they gain spells.

They get spells not only from their class but also from their tools. That gives them lots of options when it comes to cantrips.

If they want to change their cantrips, they can do so by replacing one of their existing cantrips with a new one during level up.

However, they can only change one cantrip.

After replacing a cantrip, Artificers can’t do so again until the next level. So, choose wisely.

Can You Change Cantrips in D&D on Level Up?

In general, no. Unless you’re an Artificer, you can not change cantrips on level up.

Cantrips are generally static once chosen.

However, there are options available if you want to change your cantrips.

For Wizards, Tasha’s Cauldron Of Everything introduced a rule that allows them to replace cantrips after a long rest. If your DM okays it, this is one of the best ways to change your cantrips.

There are a few other creative ways to change cantrips that we’ll look at next.

Can You Change Cantrips in D&D in with a Wish Spell?

A player once asked me, “Can you change cantrips in D&D with a wish spell?”

The answer is yes.

You can change cantrips with a Wish spell at the DM’s discretion.

You can use the Wish spell to duplicate any 8th level or lower spell, including cantrips. So, if you want to change your cantrips, this is one way to do it.

Keep in mind that Wish is a powerful spell and should get used sparingly.

It’s best not to use it for cantrip changes unless it’s absolutely critical. There are so many other better ways to use it.

Plus, Wish spells predictably usher in unintended consequences.

Can You Change Cantrips in D&D with a Deity?

Yes, you can change cantrips with a Deity—if permitted by your DM.

If you have access to a deity that grants spells, you can ask them to change your cantrips. That usually occurs through meditation.

Of course, not all deities will be willing to grant this (or any) request.

And, even if they are, they may not be willing to do it for free. So, get prepared to offer something of value in exchange for their help.

Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything: Change Cantrips:

Thanks to Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, Wizards can now change their cantrips with a long rest. This rule got introduced in the recent supplement that allows Wizards to replace one cantrip they know with another.

Wizards must first spend hours studying a new cantrip from their spellbook.

They can then replace an existing cantrip with it. Wizards can swap cantrips after a long rest.

Keep in mind that this only applies to Wizards and only at level three. This rule doesn’t apply to other classes.

Solasta Campaign World: Change Cantrips

Solasta Crown of the Magister allows players to change cantrips between adventures.

That’s possible through a particular item called a Cantripstone.

To use the Cantripstone, the player must first meditate with it for eight hours. They can then replace one of their existing cantrips with another.

That happens once per adventure.

This only applies to the Solasta campaign world and may not be available in other campaigns.

How To Allow Cantrips to Be Changed (Homebrew Recipe)

If you want to allow players to change cantrips in your game, a few options available can help you.

You can use one of the existing rules from Solasta or Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything. Or, you can create your own homebrew rule.

You’ll first need to decide how often players can change cantrips.

It will usually be once per level or once per long rest.

Next, you’ll need to decide what’s required to change a cantrip. The most common process is studying a new cantrip for hours or meditating on an item.

Once you’ve decided on these factors, you can create a house rule that allows players to change cantrips in your game.

From experience, doing so will require some bookkeeping on your part.

Make sure to track which cantrips the player knows and which ones they’ve replaced. Otherwise, they may end up with too many or too few cantrips.

Here is a good video on how to use cantrips in your D&D campaigns:

YouTube video by Artificial DM—Can You Change Cantrips in D&D?

Final Thoughts: Can You Change Cantrips in D&D?

The bottom line is that the D&D rules as written (RAW) only allow changing out cantrips very rarely and only for select classes in specific scenarios.

Like most other elements of D&D gameplay, it’s all about balance.

Related posts:

Sources

Wizards of the Coast

Create a DND Character With Jasper ...
Create a DND Character With Jasper Art